Beaten Paths

Good day to you and you and you over there, I see you. You made it to March 31, 2023. It’s been a bumpy ride, this last part of March. The weather has been wild, and so many things that I wish weren’t true, like another school shooting… I have been staying quiet on FB, one of the most popular social media platforms, I have yet to delete it or sign out forever, because there are some memories that I do not want to forget as some of the people on my friends list are no longer around. 12 or 13 years ago, when my high school friend Christa emailed me from New Zealand, her new home, she mentioned Facebook and said that I should join so that we could be friends on there. She was my first FB friend. Anyhow, the first few years of being on that platform, I had only a hand full, like maybe 5 “friends”. The reason was that my username was Jane D’oh and I listed nothing else, not even a photo of me. In 2009, I took a position at a company based in Encino, CA that outsourced work. Also, I made new friends, in both the Philippines and India, because of this. My team was based near Chennai, and I am still in contact with a few the people on that team, because of FB. So, with the coaxing of a coworker, I came out of the FB shadows and added my real name and that is when people I had not seen or thought about in years started contacting me and then I had a 100 or so list of “friends”. I over-posted about most things and such, mostly about my love of the Los Angeles Clippers and lots of pictures. Still, I have a love/hate of FB and most social media. Although, I do fancy Instagram, because it is mostly photos and videos and mostly because my feed is cats, surfing and food (on my personal account). Yeah, there are musicians and entertainers that I follow but still, most of the things I see are geared toward my flavors of the month, again, cats, food, surfing, music and such.

This was in La Jolla, CA in 2010.

Anyhow, why I am bringing these things up is because I got a message on Facebook, late Saturday evening, from a friend I met at the job that I spoke of, the one that outsourced. She forwarded me a news article detailing the crash of a helicopter in Hemet this past Friday. Sadly, she also mentioned that Dennis was on that chopper and had died along with his friend, the pilot. For me, reading those words hit me hard. I had mentioned him once before in a post about my one and only surf experience and how my boss had paid for three days of lessons in La Jolla at Surf Divas. Up until that point in my working life, I had many bosses, too many bosses. Mostly, I have forgotten the mean ones, the ones that made my life and everyone else’s lives miserable. I had been working at said company for over a year and even though I had three weeks of PTO time off per year, as was in my contract, I had not taken any sick time or used PTO time because my one client was super demanding. I had an office all to myself, and one time I was surfing the web and checking out Surf Divas. It was after normal business hours, and I was there late in the office that day, probably month end stuff. Dennis, quietly walked into my office and looked at what was on my screen and saw the Surf Divas website. He asked me about it and then he said, “give me their number so I can find out more about their company”. He ended up purchasing three days of surf lessons for me and made sure that I was able to take a week off. It was the best experience and hope to try surfing again. I am sure that there are many stories like this as Dennis was a giving person and even though he was quiet and intense when he was working, he did take time to remember little things you may have mentioned to him. One time he yelled out my name, to come to his office. I did, as he wanted me to hear a few Dead Kennedy songs that had come up on his play list. He and I often spoke about punk music, skateboarding and BBQ. I’ll have to make it to that place in Texas he mentioned that he took a helicopter to get to it because it was off the beaten path… My sincerest condolences to his family and friends as I am sure his presence will be missed by many.

Here is a little listening music for this post.

Dennis, although he did not know it, was my reason to go into that job every day. He was my work crush, I knew he was married and never really was pining after him. It was easy to leave that company after Dennis had sold his portion of the company and left. This is probably why my friend Felina message me about the news so that I could find out about it from her before I saw it on the news.

Hubby and I have been puttering around here and there. The weather has been, well, I guess, exciting? This winter has been extra cold here in the CV and probably in a few other places in California and well, frankly, Mother Nature has been toying with us, like maybe she is menopausal and agitated. I’m not sure what to expect this summer with the weather. Will it be like the last seven or so summers, with 3 months of 100 plus degree days and one to many 120-degree days or will it be mild and humid. For now, I am going to keep enjoying these brisk days and the blue, cloud filled skies.

This shot was taken from the eastbound side of the 10 FWY just before the Palm Springs exits. You can see the reflection in the bottom of the photo.

April 1st is tomorrow and April Fool’s Day. I am sure that I will not be pulling any pranks this year as I will probably be too tired tomorrow. Tonight, I will be hanging out at the Tack Room with Hubby as he is playing with the Ghosts of Kelso. I can’t wait as it is always a fun night and maybe I will get a chance to dance a little.

The weather, as I mentioned has been cold and that actually was a plus this past week as Hubby and I checked out a few more Desert X exhibits that were located in Desert Hot Springs, CA. There is still a full month left to view the exhibits. Below are some of the snaps from the exhibits.

The photos above were taken March 28, in the late morning hours, before the sky was too high in the sky. All three exhibits required some physical activity in order to see them. I complained a little but was glad that it was chilly that morning as the sun was shining and warmed up our various walks to get to the exhibits. I do recommend checking out these exhibits because of the locations and the effort it takes to see them. There exhibit that we really had to work for as the exhibit was at the end of an uphill, rocky and uneven trail. Halfway to it, I almost turned around and went back to the car. My legs were feeling heavy and I dragged my foot a bit. Anyhow, we kept going and that is when I turned around and saw the gorgeous view.

I think that the one thing Desert X has accomplished is showing off the beauty of the desert as well as the talent of some artists you may have never heard of before. The last exhibit we checked out, did not include a walk or hike, we were able to do it from the comfort of our car. Something the artist will never get to experience as he is no longer living. We drove south on Gene Autry and then made a U-turn on Via Escuela. I took out my phone and started recording. Below is the Instagram reel. I got a little choked up, as viewed the photos of Tyre Nichols. He was murdered, in Memphis, Tennessee by a group of police officers. As an aspiring photographer, or human being that carries a camera, getting to see your work on a marquee or in a public place is the best feeling, ever. I just wish he could have seen this…

Time to get some sleep! I started this post yesterday morning and have been working on it off and on. Happy to report that it is working and is so much faster than the old modem. Yay!

Thank you, dear reader, for visiting. May you have a fabulous day, night, weekend, wherever you be. Hugs.

12 Comments Add yours

  1. ZeroSpace says:

    Sorry to hear about Dennis. He sounds amazing and you’ve done a good job describing his humanity to the point where I am almost grieving him and I never met the guy. Regarding FB, I’m glad I got acquainted with some of your life here on WP rather than FB. Don’t you feel like you can be yourself more here? I’m not on FB but they used to have like a journal entry option, but nobody would read it bc that’s not what FB is about. Where WP is all about long form Journaling and I like that. I’ve gotten to know abouta few people’s true lives and personalities here better than I could at FB I think. Anyway always good to see a new post from you and I hope you have a good weekend.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. M. Lee Keena says:

      Thank you for the kind words. Yes, he really was a decent human being. I am going to add one more story, I had gotten banged up in a skateboarding accident the day before my first day at that new job. I met Dennis that day and when he reached out his hand to shake mine, I winced. He asked what happened, I told him, the next thing I know, we are heading to the parking garage so that he could show me his long board (that he kept stowed in the trunk) 🙂

      Yes, I agree with you about meeting people and getting to know them through WP. FB really can be the devil. However, it did show the true colors of people I was on the fence about. Here I have met a few people, such as you, through WP, that I would want to meet in real life.

      Hope you have a lovely weekend as well. Love your cat vids as well as the squirrels.
      I am a bit of an animal nut…hubby and I are off adventuring before his gig tonight

      Liked by 1 person

      1. ZeroSpace says:

        Same here I’d totally meet you IRL 🙂 Good point though about how FB is a decisive factor for the ones on the fence.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. M. Lee Keena says:

        Yes, I would love that as well. Right now, my fingers are crossed that my friend I met here (WP) and I get a chance to meet when she visits California. 🙂

        Like

      3. ZeroSpace says:

        Hope ya’ll had/have fun. I think I’m seeing this a day late.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. M. Lee Keena says:

        We did, but gosh, I am worn out. Right now in our part of the desert it is perfect for hiking and exploring the desert, however, I am not used to walking on uneven ground. I hurt in places I haven’t in a long time. Whenever I read about your hikes or walks, I get inspired.

        No worries, I sometimes start reading a post or a comment and then something else grabs my attention and I will be off in different directions. (Probably the weed 🙂 )

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I too have a love/hate for most social media platforms. I used to rant about politics on my personal Facebook page, but few of my friends gave a damn. I think most are just sick of reading about the orange twice impeached moron. I now use FB mostly to share my blog posts. E. Musk has ruined Twitter, and Instagram is sometimes fun, but useless to promote my blog.

    Nice pics as always Michelle.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. M. Lee Keena says:

      Me, I am tired of the Big Cheese as well. I have even started to only watch local news and sometimes that is kind of hokie.

      I never got into Twitter, because I can’t trust myself on there and know that I would be sure to offend someone oh and I do not Tiktok.

      Thank you, the weather is making it easy to get good pics.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. rkrontheroad says:

    So sorry for your loss. Dennis sounds like he was one of those special people who help you to enjoy life. I’m not doing a lot on FB or other social media these days, just posting about my blog so people can find it. Take care and have a good spring! We’re still waiting for spring here in the mountains.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. M. Lee Keena says:

      Hi Ruth,

      He was a nice guy and will be missed. My brain is so scattered lately that I am wasting more time looking for my phone and things I misplace. Plus, we both just got new phones and I am having trouble using mine – this is making it easier to stay offline and social media. I am guessing that your area still has snow. Our local mountains got a bit more snow a few days ago.
      Have a great day and week.

      MK

      Liked by 1 person

  4. terrie gura says:

    Aw, I’m sorry to hear about your friend Dennis. 😦
    He was a great manager, and no wonder you had such admiration for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. M. Lee Keena says:

      He really was 🙂

      Like

Leave a comment