Crafty

Good day to you, where ever you be today. In my world it is October 15, 2021 and chilly. Tonight, Hubby will be playing with the Ghosts of Kelso at the Tack Room in Indio. I am looking forward to tonight as it has been a few months since the guys have played a gig. It will be nice as I remember that The Tack Room has a big outdoor patio that they share with Polo Pizza Company and the view of the evening sky is spectacular. This week I started looking for old photos of the guys as I would like to use a few of their photos and work them into either a drawing or a painting. Maybe tonight I will capture something that will inspire me. I am sure that I will as Hubby is quite a character when he is playing.

The parking lot at the Empire Polo Fields.
Hubby between sets.

Hubby is the reason that I picked up a camera, again. When I was younger, I often carried around my Mom’s KX-1000 and would anxiously wait for film to be developed at the local KMart or where ever I could get it processed for the least amount of money and the with the quickest turn around time. Remember when 1 hour photo developing was popular and Fotomats? Now we have instant gratification and have digital images that are ready in an instant. Really though, I stopped the fascination with photography after I started having kids and got interested in it when I first started coming out to visit Hubby when we first started dating (again).

This was shot with a camera phone on July 6, 2014 at the Kobe Steakhouse. Hubby is in the back.

The photos that I had posted on FB were grainy and did not look like the photos on my phone. Back then, camera phones offered very little. They had low resolution and megapixels. So, I purchased a Sony point and shoot so I could get a little better quality.

May be an image of 2 people
This is with that first Sony. This was shot June 2015 in Long Beach, CA.

Truthfully, having a camera with me, helps ease anxiety that I have being in a public space. Now that I think about it, the crutch I used to use to get me through the anxiety of being around others alcohol, and drinking lots of it. Now, I drink water and pull the camera to my face when my heart starts to race.

This was shot at the Idyllwild Brew Pub in 2017.
This was just a few months ago in Venice.

So, I am looking forward to getting some new shots and more video to work with and use as practice. Hopefully tonight I can get good audio so that I can learn about syncing audio and multiple video shots.

I love any photo I capture that has that man smiling!

If you are local to the CV and have nothing planned for this evening, do stop by the Tack Room after 7 PM to enjoy some classic rock and perhaps food and a beverage.

My latest painting is in the works. I have not yet decided if I am going to keep the background plain or if I will add more color to it.

I have redone her face several times and am thinking about leaving it blank….

Painting and working on holiday crafts has kept me busy in the last few days. I am so happy that Dollar Tree has a huge selection of craft items. Since I have had surgery a few years ago, I have had plenty of glorious time to work on art and craft projects that I had always wanted to try. I no longer had to envy people that were showing off their latest crocheted blanket or food that they mastered as I never had time or money to indulge in activities like that. Really though, I was not ready back then as I was fighting monkeys and trying to keep them off my back. Just like I was not ready to cook or be exited about food and cooking after I walked away from the restaurant that I had dreamed of opening and running. It took many years to appreciate all that I was able to experience even though it may or may not have been what I wanted to be doing at the time. Maybe all these issues with my health have propelled me to work on these things. What ever it is that is coaxing me along, thank you!

These ghosts were purchased at Dollar Tree.

Here are a few of the Halloween decorations that I made with a few items that I bought at Dollar Tree.

I used a canvas that I was going to throw out. I still have not finished this one yet.
This was fun to decorate.
Boooo!

That was my week, I also baked and cooked a few things as I thinking my cooking mojo may be back. Good thing the kids will be visiting soon as I will be able to try out all the goodies that I have been making and trying out lately, like the bagels that I made a few days ago.

I had no idea you had to boil bagels before you bake them. It makes them shiny.
Those are mini bagels. The recipe was for 6 large bagels, I made 12 minis.

Thank you dear reader for visiting! It’s Friday and may your day be everything you make it to be. May all your lights be green and may you get where ever you are going safely. Hugs to you and you and especially YOU!

6 Comments Add yours

  1. Sarah Davis says:

    The Venice photo just made me happy! I enjoy your photos and art. Keep Rockin’

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I like that photo too. That girl caught attention and her enthusiasm I can almost feel đŸ™‚

      Have a greta weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

    2. Ooops, my fumble fingers…I meant have a great weekend!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. You are so creative Michelle, and full of energy & enthusiasm.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Jeff! You are too kind but yes, I am definitely full of something đŸ™‚

      Have a great weekend. This mornings sky here in the CV is just gorgeous!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment